Love Languages

When you’d prefer a little romance, do you have a friend who claims they’d always choose flowers over anything else? The simplest illustration of the various love languages is what was just said.

We all give and feel love in different ways, and those variations may be the cause of how occasionally feelings and good intentions are lost in translation.

Love languages

Types Of Love Languages

The five love languages outline five ways that partners can show and receive affection. Knowing and using each other’s love languages can make you both feel more loved and valued. Gary Chapman, an author and pastor, explains how to use seven love languages to express your affection to your partner in a way that touches their heart.

What Are the Five Love Languages?

Dr. Gary Chapman, a marriage counsellor, initially described the five love languages in his book “The 5 Love Languages,” published in 1992.

There are five main types of love language:

  1. Words of affirmation
  2. Quality time
  3. Physical touch
  4. Acts of service
  5. Receiving gifts

Words of affirmation

The idea behind words of affirmation is to convey love and gratitude through words, whether they are spoken, written, used in texts, or all of the above.

If you thrive on these:

  • being praised and hearing it
  • frequently hearing “I love you”
  • obtaining supportive remarks,

it may be one of your love languages.

The secret to using words of affirmation is to be genuine and use them frequently. Send a text or a letter if you have problems expressing yourself verbally. What important is that you express your appreciation to them in words.

For a relationship, this can entail expressing your love for them more frequently or calling them periodically during the day to let them know you are thinking of them. Words of affirmation for a buddy might take the form of a text message saying, “You’ll be fantastic!” before a job interview or a praise on their attire.

Quality time

As you might have guessed, quality time refers to the appreciation of quality time spent with others.

When individuals they care about make time for each other and offer each other their whole attention, a person whose language of love is quality time may feel most loved and cherished.

Quality time maybe your language of love if:

  • When you don’t spend enough time with a partner, you feel distant.
  • You put a lot of effort into scheduling social time.

Everyone has a different idea of what quality time is. Some people value having some time set aside to unwind with one another at the end of the day. Others define quality time as making time for shared activities.

When spending quality time, it’s important to be fully present and free from outside distractions.

Physical touch

The third love language is touching. To be clear, this is appropriate, consenting physical contact, which manifests differently depending on the circumstance and the nature of your connection with the other person.

Physical touch is vital for those whose preferred method of expressing and receiving love is touch. They communicate and feel connected to others through touch.

Your love language may involve physical contact if:

  • When your partner doesn’t show you physical affection, you may feel isolated or distant.
  • When a lover unexpectedly holds or kisses you, it makes you feel especially appreciated.
  • You adore PDA and consider yourself to be “touchy-feely”.

It is obvious that your relationship with them will ultimately determine how you should and can interact with them. Physical touch can be used to convey affection through simple actions like hugging or cuddling. It may also involve additional sexual activity, such as kissing, if it is acceptable.

Acts of service

The fourth love language is acts of service, and if you truly feel that deeds always speak louder than words, this love language will speak to you.

By actions, I mean providing the other with thoughtful, selfless acts. Keep in mind that these don’t have to be romantic in nature; they can also strengthen bonds with friends and family.

These are some indications that your love language may be acts of service:

  • When a partner offers to assist you with a task without your asking, you are over the moon.
  • You are the friend a friend needs when they are having a rough day.

Giving someone a cup of coffee in the morning or running an errand for a busy friend or loved one are examples of acts of service rather than extravagant gestures.

Receiving gifts

The fifth and final love language is receiving gifts. It must be made clear that this love language is not just for the materialistic or alleged “money diggers.”

It goes far beyond just wanting material things for someone whose love language is gifting. For this person, the significance of the present and the thinking that went into it are both equally important. No pricey automobiles or diamonds are necessary.

Signs that receiving gifts is your love language:

  • You take the time to select the most considerate gift while presenting presents.
  • No matter how little a partner provides for you, you value it all.

Giving gifts to express affection is not about being extravagant. Even a tiny present will be appreciated because it serves as a physical reminder that the recipient was given thought and care.

Everybody expresses their love in a unique way. The love languages could be a good place to start on your journey to better understanding one another, while you shouldn’t accept them as gospel.

Learn more about the human mind, discover yourself and remain motivated with Evolve! If you liked our article, try the Evolve App to help you move on and focus on your growth. Evolve has a range of guided audios that help you proactively manage stressreduce anxiety and make mindfulness light and joyful, so you can be balanced at any time! The Evolve app is now live globally on Android and Apple. Click here to try it for free!