Chakras For Beginners

What are chakras?

You must have frequently overheard people discussing chakras and yoga. Since it is fascinating, we will cover all a beginner needs to know about chakras in this article. Chakras are the energy centers of the body. The chakras collaborate to produce life force energy in a person who is in perfect health. Chakras that are balanced are beneficial to the body, mind, and soul. Each chakra produces a different color and energy. Everyone corresponds to a gland in the human body. It is said that physical, psychological, and emotional illnesses can result from the blocking or dysfunction of a chakra since each one is related to distinct spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical parts of our existence.

Chakras For Beginners
source: Healthline

History of chakras 

The Vedas, the first yoga scriptures, were written in India between 1500 and 500 BC, which is where the chakra system first appeared.

The chariot wheels of the kings, known as chakravartin, are what the term chakra originally meant when it was translated as “wheel.” A chakra is an energetic spinning disc or wheel that runs along the spine represented by the example of the wheel. 

The state of a person’s physical, mental, and emotional health is all directly correlated with the health of their chakras.

Chakras have a lot of importance in yoga and meditation.

The Chakras are points of connection and interaction between the physical and emotional dimensions. 

About the 7 main chakras 

We have up to 114 chakras, but the main seven chakras are important and need to be aligned and open. They stretch all the way up to the top of your head from the end of your spinal cord. Each chakra has a specific name, color, meaning, and properties to keep us healthy.

The main 7 chakras are as follows:

1. The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

 the root chakra rests near the base of the spine of the human body and offers us a sense of stability.

When the root chakra is open, we have faith in our capacity to overcome obstacles and stand on our own. We feel frightened and weak.

Colour: Red

control: basic trust, financial independence, survival skills.

Location: base of the spine

2. The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The second chakra, which is behind the sexual organs, is where the life-force energy ascends and appears as the sex drive, creativity, and reproduction. More creativity and enthusiasm are present when the energy is rising. Through art or any kind of creative expression, you may fuel this.

Colour: Orange

Control: sexuality, creativity

Location: behind the genitals

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra, the third chakra, represents your power of self and life management. Whenever you have anxiety or nervousness you have this strong feeling in your stomach, you feel a pit. This can be caused by the solar plexus chakra.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

Control: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem

Color: Yellow

4. The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The lower chakras are related to matter and the upper chakras are connected by the Anahata, or heart chakra. This chakra, as its name indicates, has the power to affect how well we are able to love both ourselves and others, linked to joy, compassion, and unrestricted love. It is the wellspring of great truths that are too deep to be put into words.

Location: Center of chest

 control: Love, joy, and inner peace

Color: Green

5. The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra plays a vital role in communication and expression. If this chakra is blocked, difficulties in communication may be observed. Vocal vibration exercises included in meditation can help unblock this chakra. It also controls the outburst of emotion and creativity.

Location: throat 

 control: verbal

Color: Green

6. The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye is all about establishing a connection to your inner guidance and vision. A third-eye chakra that is open and clear can enable you to perceive the world very differently.

Location: center of forehead

Control: intuitions 

Colour: Purple

7. The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra impacts not only all the other chakras (and hence all the organs in this system) but also our brain and neurological system because each chakra is connected to every other chakra. It is regarded as the chakra of enlightenment and stands for our connection to spirituality and our life’s purpose. t is always a reflection of awareness, enlightenment, and spirituality.

Location: top of the head

Control: awareness, enlightenment, and spirituality.

Colour: violet or white

Ways to Activate the chakras 

Over the years, the primary goal of spiritual searchers has been opening the seven chakras.

This is how to activate the chakras :

  • Meditation 
  • Exercise 
  • Sit on your knees and focus

If you liked our article Try Evolve App to help you move on and focus on your growth. The app has journeys that will help you lead a healthy life. The Evolve app is now live globally on Android & Apple, click here to try it for free.